Brookings

Rain is forecast all day, a good time to do laundry so after a leisurely Easter Brunch in the van we headed into Brookings to look for a Laundromat and found a nice one, clean, plenty of machines and not too busy.  It became quickly obvious that we don’t frequent Laundromats, first we couldn’t figure out how to get the washer door open – a woman came to our rescue and yanked it open saying you have to pull really hard.  A bit embarrassed we loaded our clothes, were able to find the change machine and soap on our own and hit all the right buttons to get it going then sat down to read while the clothes washed.

When it came time to dry there were many choices and admittedly I don’t have an advanced degree in machine operation so managed fumbled through with the assistance of another nice local who took pity on the poor city girl. I loaded the clothes into one of the upper dryers but the money in the slot for the lower dryer, that’s when she came to my assistance, pointing out the arrows – head smack!  Clothes moved to the right dryer I selected the temperature and pushed the only button I saw but the dryer wouldn’t start so I pushed it again, nothing. I checked to make sure I had deposited the correct amount of money, I had.  So I continued to push the same button with the same result, nothing.  Once again the woman came to my assistance and showed me the well-labeled “start” button I had somehow totally missed and said something nice like “it’s hard to see” . . . bless you my friend. Who knew laundry was so complicated.

It was all too much for me and by the time we finished it was 3:30 p.m. and we were hungry.   I googled restaurants in Brookings and found two that sounded good and near by.  The first one was closed for a private party but the other was right next door and it was open. We were welcomed, and seated near the window, it was small and there was only one other couple in the restaurant and a young boy sitting at the bar, the owner’s son.

The owner/chef was very nice and had a wonderful, sophisticated menu; we were both sorry that we weren’t hungry enough for a full dinner.   We ordered two appetizers, a mushroom crostini topped with a mushroom ragout and herbed ricotta and a drizzle of pesto that was absolutely delicious and a grilled chili lime shrimp appetizer equally delicious.

The chef kept checking on us to see how we were doing and how we liked each dish – we liked his food very much and only wished there was a restaurant this good near home. The appetizers were quite satisfying but we split a Cobb salad that was also very tasty with a light balsamic dressing. The waitress talked us into a house made crème brûlée, the best I have ever had and we left with full bellies and no regrets! This is a really fantastic little restaurant in a small coastal town, totally unexpected; the food is big city 5-star quality. Our hats are off to the young owner/chef and his wife, Rob and Kylie Krebs. Stop by if you ever travel through Brookings, you will not be disappointed.

